Caden Merrill's Overtime Heroics Lead Bulldogs to Victory Against Steelville, 67-65

(Leadwood, MO) Caden Merrill finishes a rebound-put-back as West County tops Steelville in overtime, 67-65. The Bulldogs hand the Cardinals their first loss of the season.

With under 30 seconds to play in the extra frame, Steelville would imbound on the offensive floor after a timeout was called, trailng West County 65-62. Conner Diaz tied the game with a triple leaving just under 10 seconds left in a tie game, and West County had final posession.

Levi Hale led West County shooters with 18 points. Chasten Horton adds a double-double, 15 points, 11 rebounds. Ty Harlow and Caden Merrill contributed 12 each. Merrill had 7 rebounds as well. After the thrilling win, Bulldogs Head Coach Chris Labruyere on Merrill's performance.

Labruyere on the overall play from his team in the contest.

West County is 5-2 on the season and play in the 64th Annual Rotary Shootout at the Bob Sechrest Fieldhouse at Mineral Area College against Potosi. Tip time is set for 9:00am.

Steelville had a game high 26 points from Landon Mabe and 12 points from Johnny Brice. They fall to 6-1 on the year and are idle until the 67th Bob Sechrest Jr. Central Christmas Tournament as the 4-seed. The Cardinals will battle Jefferson.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Other Action on the Hardwood:

GBB:

Lady Mustang Classic, 5th Place Game

Farmington 38, Webb City 35

St. Vincent 59, North County 35


*All interviews included can be found in the AudioVault

Scores

Class 3 State 3rd Place Game
Thursday (KFMO) - Final
West County10
Licking2

Broadcast Schedule

Saturday, June 22:
12:20p, MLB: San Francisco @ St. Louis*
Sunday, June 23:
12:20p, MLB: San Francisco @ St. Louis*
12:30p, NCS (PRN): NASCAR 301 at New Hampshire
Monday, June 24:
5:50p, MLB: Atlanta @ St. Louis*
Tuesday, June 25:
5:50p, MLB: Atlanta @ St. Louis*
Wednesday, June 26:
5:50p, MLB: Atlanta @ St. Louis*
6:00p, KFMO Classics: FB: Central vs Blair Oaks (11/25/23)
Thursday, June 27:
5:50p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
Friday, June 28:
6:20p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
Saturday, June 29:
12:20p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
Sunday, June 30:
12:20p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
1:30p, NCS (PRN): Ally 400 at Nashville
Tuesday, July 2:
4:45p, MLB: St. Louis @ Pittsburgh*
Wednesday, July 3:
4:45p, MLB: St. Louis @ Pittsburgh*
6:00p, KFMO Classics: Base: Fred’town vs Central (5/21/24)
Thursday, July 4:
10:40a, MLB: St. Louis @ Pittsburgh*
Friday, July 5:
4:50p, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
Saturday, July 6:
2:10p, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
Sunday, July 7:
11:40a, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
2:30p, NCS (MRN): Grant Park 165 at Chicago
Monday, July 8:
2:10p, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
Tuesday, July 9:
5:50p, MLB: Kansas City @ St. Louis*
Wednesday, July 10:
5:50p, MLB: Kansas City @ St. Louis*
6:00p, KFMO Classics: SB: Valle Catholic vs Central (5/8/24)
Friday, July 12:
6:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
Saturday, July 13:
12:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
6:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
Sunday, July 14:
12:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
12:30p, NCS (MRN): NASCAR Race at Pocono
^ - denotes live video
+ -denotes game on KFMOsportsPlus
* - denotes game on B104.3