Greg Heiar Leaves Mineral Area After One Season, Takes Head Coaching Job at Trinity Valley

(Park Hills, MO) Mineral Area College Athletics announced Tuesday via a press release that Greg Heiar has stepped down as head coach of the MAC Men’s Basketball program after just one season. According to the release, Heiar has accepted a head coaching position at Trinity Valley Community College in Athens, TX.

Heiar led MAC to a 29-3 record boasting one of the best defensive teams in all of college. The Cardinals soared as high as 2nd in the Nation through the season, and ended the year ranked 6th. MAC lost to Moberly in the Region 16 Championship Game, and were subsequently snubbed from the National Tournament.

The Parkland community quickly supported Heiar and the surging Cards, which made it easier for Greg and his family to adjust to the area.

Heiar replaces Martin Levinson who led Trinity Valley to the second round of the National Tournament. Levinson resigned April 2 and accepted a position with NCAA DII University of Nebraska at Kearney. Coach Heiar says the opportunity quickly arose.

“We are excited to have Greg lead the next chapter of Cardinal basketball,” said Trinity Valley Athletic Director Eddie Kite in a press release on the college’s athletic page. “He is a proven winner and understands our high standards and what it takes to achieve them.”

Heiar will be the 13th head coach of the Trinity Valley Cardinals.


​Interview can be found in the AudioVault tab.

Scores

Class 3 State 3rd Place Game
Thursday (KFMO) - Final
West County10
Licking2

Broadcast Schedule

Saturday, June 22:
12:20p, MLB: San Francisco @ St. Louis*
Sunday, June 23:
12:20p, MLB: San Francisco @ St. Louis*
12:30p, NCS (PRN): NASCAR 301 at New Hampshire
Monday, June 24:
5:50p, MLB: Atlanta @ St. Louis*
Tuesday, June 25:
5:50p, MLB: Atlanta @ St. Louis*
Wednesday, June 26:
5:50p, MLB: Atlanta @ St. Louis*
6:00p, KFMO Classics: FB: Central vs Blair Oaks (11/25/23)
Thursday, June 27:
5:50p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
Friday, June 28:
6:20p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
Saturday, June 29:
12:20p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
Sunday, June 30:
12:20p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
1:30p, NCS (PRN): Ally 400 at Nashville
Tuesday, July 2:
4:45p, MLB: St. Louis @ Pittsburgh*
Wednesday, July 3:
4:45p, MLB: St. Louis @ Pittsburgh*
6:00p, KFMO Classics: Base: Fred’town vs Central (5/21/24)
Thursday, July 4:
10:40a, MLB: St. Louis @ Pittsburgh*
Friday, July 5:
4:50p, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
Saturday, July 6:
2:10p, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
Sunday, July 7:
11:40a, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
2:30p, NCS (MRN): Grant Park 165 at Chicago
Monday, July 8:
2:10p, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
Tuesday, July 9:
5:50p, MLB: Kansas City @ St. Louis*
Wednesday, July 10:
5:50p, MLB: Kansas City @ St. Louis*
6:00p, KFMO Classics: SB: Valle Catholic vs Central (5/8/24)
Friday, July 12:
6:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
Saturday, July 13:
12:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
6:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
Sunday, July 14:
12:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
12:30p, NCS (MRN): NASCAR Race at Pocono
^ - denotes live video
+ -denotes game on KFMOsportsPlus
* - denotes game on B104.3