Potosi Lady Trojans Looking to the Future, Hire Josh Mapes as Head Basketball Coach

(Potosi, MO) The Potosi School District is welcoming Josh Mapes as the new head coach of the Potosi Lady Trojans basketball team.

Mapes, who spent the previous season as an assistant with Rusty Sancegraw’s Farmington Knights (GBB) has over 20 years of coaching experience and over 250 wins. Mapes led the Central Lady Rebels to two Final Four appearances during his tenure from 2013-14 to 2022-23.

During that time, his Lady Rebels won a State Championship, seven MAAA Tournament titles, nine District Titles, and six regular season Conference Titles, along with several Christmas Tournament Championships. The Lady Rebels compiled a 243-41 overall record, and 42-8 conference record under Mapes.

 “We are thrilled to welcome back one of our own, Josh Mapes, to lead our girls basketball program,” Potosi Superintendent, Alex McCaul, said in a press release. “His proven leadership, coaching expertise, and dedication to the success of his players makes him the ideal candidate to guide our team to new heights.”

Mapes graduated from Potosi High School.

“I am honored to return to my alma mater and take on the role of Head Girls Basketball Coach,” Mapes said in the press release. “Potosi High School holds a special place in my heart, and I am eager to work alongside our student-athletes, coaching staff, and community to build a program that competes at the highest level.”

Mapes replaces Steven Barnett who took over the role on an interim basis after Allie Golden was relieved of her coaching duties on January 15, 2024.

Scores

Class 3 State 3rd Place Game
Thursday (KFMO) - Final
West County10
Licking2

Broadcast Schedule

Saturday, June 22:
12:20p, MLB: San Francisco @ St. Louis*
Sunday, June 23:
12:20p, MLB: San Francisco @ St. Louis*
12:30p, NCS (PRN): NASCAR 301 at New Hampshire
Monday, June 24:
5:50p, MLB: Atlanta @ St. Louis*
Tuesday, June 25:
5:50p, MLB: Atlanta @ St. Louis*
Wednesday, June 26:
5:50p, MLB: Atlanta @ St. Louis*
6:00p, KFMO Classics: FB: Central vs Blair Oaks (11/25/23)
Thursday, June 27:
5:50p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
Friday, June 28:
6:20p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
Saturday, June 29:
12:20p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
Sunday, June 30:
12:20p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
1:30p, NCS (PRN): Ally 400 at Nashville
Tuesday, July 2:
4:45p, MLB: St. Louis @ Pittsburgh*
Wednesday, July 3:
4:45p, MLB: St. Louis @ Pittsburgh*
6:00p, KFMO Classics: Base: Fred’town vs Central (5/21/24)
Thursday, July 4:
10:40a, MLB: St. Louis @ Pittsburgh*
Friday, July 5:
4:50p, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
Saturday, July 6:
2:10p, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
Sunday, July 7:
11:40a, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
2:30p, NCS (MRN): Grant Park 165 at Chicago
Monday, July 8:
2:10p, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
Tuesday, July 9:
5:50p, MLB: Kansas City @ St. Louis*
Wednesday, July 10:
5:50p, MLB: Kansas City @ St. Louis*
6:00p, KFMO Classics: SB: Valle Catholic vs Central (5/8/24)
Friday, July 12:
6:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
Saturday, July 13:
12:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
6:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
Sunday, July 14:
12:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
12:30p, NCS (MRN): NASCAR Race at Pocono
^ - denotes live video
+ -denotes game on KFMOsportsPlus
* - denotes game on B104.3