State Champion Rebels Recognized at Ring Ceremony

(Park Hills, MO) Members of the 2023 Central Rebels State Championship winning football team received championship rings Thursday night at a ceremony held at the TJ Foulon Fieldhouse.

Special guests Chris Warden and MSHSAA representative Craig Gibbs congratulated the athletes and coaches before Rebel head coach Kory Schweiss spoke about the entire season, mentioned individual and team accomplishments, and congratulated his group.

The Rebels won the first three games of the season, but an injury to senior quarterback Casen Murphy thrust Jobe Bryant into the QB role, shaking up the offense. Although Central lost the next three games, the offense continued to grow. 

Murphy returned to the gridiron and the Rebels became an unstoppable force, winning the next eight games through the end of the season, including a rematch with Ste. Genevieve in the Class 3, District 1 Championship.

Schweiss has coached Central since 2004, collecting the program’s first District title in 2010, but had to wait until 2023 to get its first State playoff win. That came on November 18th when his club dominated St. Francis Borgia 50-28.

The following week Blair Oaks gave the Rebels all they could but were just short as Central hung on for a 48-43 road victory. The Rebels headed to the championship for the first time ever to meet Seneca at Faurot Field in Columbia, MO.

A one sided first half favored Central, but Seneca stepped up in the second half bringing it to a one score game with possession, until Bryant collected a fumble and the Rebels never looked back. 

Schweiss spoke about how proud he is of his team.

Former players received a shirt honoring their commitment to the program.

The special season was highlighted by several players receiving conference, district, and state accolades. Central Athletics on X (formerly known as Twitter) recognized the players.

Scores

Class 3 State 3rd Place Game
Thursday (KFMO) - Final
West County10
Licking2

Broadcast Schedule

Saturday, June 22:
12:20p, MLB: San Francisco @ St. Louis*
Sunday, June 23:
12:20p, MLB: San Francisco @ St. Louis*
12:30p, NCS (PRN): NASCAR 301 at New Hampshire
Monday, June 24:
5:50p, MLB: Atlanta @ St. Louis*
Tuesday, June 25:
5:50p, MLB: Atlanta @ St. Louis*
Wednesday, June 26:
5:50p, MLB: Atlanta @ St. Louis*
6:00p, KFMO Classics: FB: Central vs Blair Oaks (11/25/23)
Thursday, June 27:
5:50p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
Friday, June 28:
6:20p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
Saturday, June 29:
12:20p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
Sunday, June 30:
12:20p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
1:30p, NCS (PRN): Ally 400 at Nashville
Tuesday, July 2:
4:45p, MLB: St. Louis @ Pittsburgh*
Wednesday, July 3:
4:45p, MLB: St. Louis @ Pittsburgh*
6:00p, KFMO Classics: Base: Fred’town vs Central (5/21/24)
Thursday, July 4:
10:40a, MLB: St. Louis @ Pittsburgh*
Friday, July 5:
4:50p, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
Saturday, July 6:
2:10p, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
Sunday, July 7:
11:40a, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
2:30p, NCS (MRN): Grant Park 165 at Chicago
Monday, July 8:
2:10p, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
Tuesday, July 9:
5:50p, MLB: Kansas City @ St. Louis*
Wednesday, July 10:
5:50p, MLB: Kansas City @ St. Louis*
6:00p, KFMO Classics: SB: Valle Catholic vs Central (5/8/24)
Friday, July 12:
6:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
Saturday, July 13:
12:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
6:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
Sunday, July 14:
12:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
12:30p, NCS (MRN): NASCAR Race at Pocono
^ - denotes live video
+ -denotes game on KFMOsportsPlus
* - denotes game on B104.3