Ste. Genevieve Dragons Claim Second Straight Regular Season Crown, Top Potosi Lady Trojans 16-5

(Potosi, MO) The Ste. Genevieve Dragons are back-to-back regular season MAAA Softball Conference Champions after Tuesday’s win over the Potosi Lady Trojans 16-5.

The Dragons won their first ever regular season title last season beating all conference opponents and finishing with an 18-7 record. For the second straight year, they have gone a perfect 7-0 in conference games.

Ste. Gen Head Coach, Becky Keim, says this year’s regular season title is special.

Ste. Genevieve (9-6, 7-0) had many question marks coming into the new year after graduating five players from the 2023 roster. Coach Keim says this team has adjusted well to the changes in personal between seasons.

The Dragons will likely be the top seed in the MAAA Tournament that begins Monday, April 15. The Tournament seeds Thursday morning at 7:00am via Zoom. Ste. Gen will host the top half of the bracket for quarterfinals, while the 2-seed in the tournament will host the bottom half of the quarterfinal bracket.

Ava Greer struck out 14 batters in the conference title clinching victory, she tripled in the game at the plate. Chloe Staffen was 4-for-5 at the dish with five RBI and two doubles. Olivia Beckerman went 4-for-5 with two doubles as well. Beckerman collected three RBI and scored twice. Autumn Werner was 3-for-4 with three runs, and two RBI.

The Dragons broke a scoreless game with a seven run fourth inning, and added nine more in the top of the seventh.

Potosi (4-8, 2-4) scored their five runs in the seventh inning. Harlee Kley was 2-for-3 with a run and RBI in the loss. The Trojans have fallen in four straight games.

Scores

Class 3 State 3rd Place Game
Thursday (KFMO) - Final
West County10
Licking2

Broadcast Schedule

Saturday, June 22:
12:20p, MLB: San Francisco @ St. Louis*
Sunday, June 23:
12:20p, MLB: San Francisco @ St. Louis*
12:30p, NCS (PRN): NASCAR 301 at New Hampshire
Monday, June 24:
5:50p, MLB: Atlanta @ St. Louis*
Tuesday, June 25:
5:50p, MLB: Atlanta @ St. Louis*
Wednesday, June 26:
5:50p, MLB: Atlanta @ St. Louis*
6:00p, KFMO Classics: FB: Central vs Blair Oaks (11/25/23)
Thursday, June 27:
5:50p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
Friday, June 28:
6:20p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
Saturday, June 29:
12:20p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
Sunday, June 30:
12:20p, MLB: Cincinnati @ St. Louis*
1:30p, NCS (PRN): Ally 400 at Nashville
Tuesday, July 2:
4:45p, MLB: St. Louis @ Pittsburgh*
Wednesday, July 3:
4:45p, MLB: St. Louis @ Pittsburgh*
6:00p, KFMO Classics: Base: Fred’town vs Central (5/21/24)
Thursday, July 4:
10:40a, MLB: St. Louis @ Pittsburgh*
Friday, July 5:
4:50p, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
Saturday, July 6:
2:10p, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
Sunday, July 7:
11:40a, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
2:30p, NCS (MRN): Grant Park 165 at Chicago
Monday, July 8:
2:10p, MLB: St. Louis @ Washington*
Tuesday, July 9:
5:50p, MLB: Kansas City @ St. Louis*
Wednesday, July 10:
5:50p, MLB: Kansas City @ St. Louis*
6:00p, KFMO Classics: SB: Valle Catholic vs Central (5/8/24)
Friday, July 12:
6:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
Saturday, July 13:
12:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
6:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
Sunday, July 14:
12:20p, MLB: Chicago (N) @ St. Louis*
12:30p, NCS (MRN): NASCAR Race at Pocono
^ - denotes live video
+ -denotes game on KFMOsportsPlus
* - denotes game on B104.3